People on the move

Feb. 17, 2023
This weekly update provides the latest in senior appointments, promotions, retirements and more across the offshore energy industry.

Offshore staff

HOUSTON  Cenovus Energy Inc.'s Alex Pourbaix will shift to the role of executive chair, and Jon McKenzie, the company’s current executive vice president and COO, will become president and CEO, effective April 26, 2023. Read more. 

AVEVA CEO Peter Herweck will become the next CEO of Schneider Electric on May 4, and Caspar Herzberg will become AVEVA's new CEO, effective March 1. Read more. 

Paradigm Drilling Services (Aberdeen, UK) has appointed Jim Profit COO.

Shoreline Wind has appointed David Tuohy COO.

Scana ASA has hired Espen Thomassen as its new chief commercial officer, effective April 1. Oddbjørn Haukøy was named interim CEO on Jan. 12, and the company has yet to identify a permanent replacement as CEO.

Shiblee Hashem has joined the executive management team of Intelligent Wellhead Systems Inc. as vice president of operations.

Endeavor Business Media's very own Danny Foster has resigned. He has started a new position as associate director of sales Americas at Society of Petroleum Engineers International. Foster served as publisher of both the Oil & Gas Journal (OGJ) and Offshore brands from January 2021 to Feb. 10, 2023.

Hartshead Resources NL has selected David Fowler as contracts and procurements manager and Denis Danchenko as geophysicist within the subsurface team.

Patrick van der Meide and Harmen Tiddens will set up and lead the new Roll-Group's Roll Africa Region.

Shwan Berzinji has started a new position as LNG commercial operations Americas with PetroChina International (America) Inc.

Talos Energy Inc. has completed its previously announced acquisition of EnVen Energy Corp. The combined company is led by the senior management team of Talos. In addition, in connection with the closing of the acquisition, Robert Tichio, the Riverstone Holdings representative serving on Talos's board of directors, resigned from the board, and Shandell Szabo and Richard Sherrill, two directors designated by EnVen, were appointed to the board of directors. The board of directors now consists of seven independent directors plus Founder, President and CEO Tim Duncan. Read more. 



Photo 190521531 © Pavel Kapysh |
Cenovus Energy
Courtesy Caspar Herzberg LinkedIn
Caspar Herzberg
Photo 42098611 / Acquisition © Mike Ehrman |

Photo 45185193 © Rawpixelimages |
Photo 170492125 © Phuttaphat Tipsana |
Photo 45185193 © Rawpixelimages |
Courtesy Prosafe LinkedIn
Terje Askvig