OTC 2014: Distinguished Achievement Award recipients announced

The Offshore Technology Conference has revealed the recipients of this year’s Distinguished Achievement Awards.

Offshore staff

HOUSTONThe Offshore Technology Conference has revealed the recipients of this year’s Distinguished Achievement Awards. OTC will recognize Carl Arne Carlsen for individual achievement, the BP Clair Ridge project for corporate achievement, and Susan Cunningham with the Heritage Award.

Carl Arne Carlsen, senior vice president and member of the governing board at DNV, will be honored for his advancements in the safety and reliability of mobile offshore structures, and the practical applications of risk management. His focus on safety led to important developments in the industry such as establishing rules for dynamic behavior of jackup platforms, semisubmersible platforms, and for the FPSOs in harsh environments. He was also instrumental in developing the IMO/IACS Enhanced Survey Program for oil tankers and carriers.

BP will be recognized for the deployment ofLoSal EOR (Reduced Salinity Enhanced Oil Recovery) technology into the Clair Ridge development west of Shetland, UK. The effort represents the first sanctioned, full-field, offshore use of the LoSal EOR technology, which was developed by BP to increase oil recovery.

The company’s enhanced recovery technology team observed that reducing the salinity of sea water for waterflooding, instead of using conventional sea water, releases more oil from the rock surfaces. As a result, the Clair Ridge development includes desalination facilities to generate the reduced salinity water which BP predicts will improve oil recovery by an additional 42 MMbbl at an additional investment cost of $3/bbl.

Susan Cunningham will be presented the Heritage Award in recognition of her exemplary leadership and outstanding technical contributions in theGulf of Mexico, West Africa, and the Eastern Mediterranean regions. Cunningham started her career more than 30 years ago as a geologist with Amoco Canada.

She is currently the senior vice president of Gulf of Mexico, Africa, Frontier Ventures and Business Innovation for Noble Energy. Cunningham was the chairman of OTC in 2010 and 2011 (representing the American Association of Petroleum Geologist), and has served as a board member for Cliffs Natural Resources and the Houston Geological Society.

The recipients will be presented their awards at the Annual OTC Dinner scheduled for Sunday, May 4, at 5:30 p.m. in Reliant Stadium.

More in Company News