OTC 2013: Distinguished Achievement Award winners revealed

OTC has named its 2013 Distinguished Achievement Award recipients.

Offshore staff

HOUSTON– OTC has named its 2013 Distinguished Achievement Award recipients.

Ken Arnold is being honored for individual achievement for his leadership and extensive contributions to the E&P industry. His achievements include playing an integral role in the offshore industry’s focus on safety through the development of Recommended Practices for offshore design and safety management; and developing approaches to both equipment sizing and facility project management. He also has been instrumental in the effort to establish oil field facilities engineering as a recognized technical engineering specialty.

Total E&P is being recognized for corporate achievement for its Pazflor development offshore Angola. Now 18 months into production, Pazflor is one of the world’s largest and most sophisticated offshore developments to date. In addition to the first use of subsea separation and pumping on a wide scale, the project included the construction of the world’s largest FPSO, and one of the most complex subsea networks. Pazflor contributed to industrial development in Angola with 3.5 million man-hours of work undertaken locally. The field started up one month ahead of schedule in August 2011.

James Brill and Dendy Sloan are being recognized for their leadership and pioneering spirit with the Heritage Award.

Brill, Professor Emeritus at the University of Tulsa, is a trailblazer in the discipline of multi-phase flow in pipes and wells. His research led to the formation of the Tulsa University Fluid Flow Projects. He also founded the Tulsa University Paraffin Deposition Projects. He has published more than 200 technical papers and research reports.

Sloan has been an industry leader, professor, and researcher in the area of hydrates for four decades. The modeling and simulation tools resulting from his research are used daily for the design and operation of offshore production systems. In 1993, he founded the International Conference on Gas Hydrates. Two decades later, the conference has grown to more than 1,000 participants. He has authored more than 230 publications and five books on hydrates in flow assurance.

The recipients will be presented their awards at the Annual OTC Dinner scheduled for Sunday, May 5, at 5:30 p.m. at Reliant Stadium in Houston.

More in Business Briefs