People on the move

Feb. 27, 2023
This weekly update provides the latest in senior appointments, promotions, retirements and more across the offshore energy industry.

Offshore staff

HOUSTON — Suncor's board of directors has unanimously selected Rich Kruger to be the company's next president and CEO, effective April 3. Kruger will also join the Suncor board of directors. Kris Smith, who has been the interim CEO since July 2022, will work with Kruger to facilitate a leadership transition before assuming the role of CFO and executive vice president of corporate development, at the conclusion of Suncor's annual general meeting on May 9. Alister Cowan, the current CFO, plans to retire but has offered to remain with the company through the end of the year to support the transition to Smith and to provide advisory services. Read more. 

Telford Offshore, an international offshore service provider, has been wholly acquired by Merced Capital. In connection to the acquisition, Robert Duncan has been appointed the new CEO of the company, succeeding Fraser MooreRead more. 

Tony Bowman has been appointed PXGEO CEO, effective April 3. Bowman’s appointment as CEO follows Duncan Eley’s decision to resign and leave PXGEO. Pending Bowman’s arrival, Peter Zickerman will serve as interim CEO. Zickerman, a current director and the founder of PXGEO, has been appointed executive chairman of the board. Christopher Mallon has joined the board as an independent director.

Hartshead Resources NL has appointed Anne-Michèle Vignaroli COO.

ABS has appointed Panos Koutsourakis vice president of global sustainability. Koutsourakis heads up a global network of sustainability centers in Singapore, Athens, Houston, Copenhagen and Shanghai.

James Smith will be leaving Capricorn Energy soon, the board announced, and Clare Mawdsley, previously director of finance, has been promoted to acting CFO.

Oceaneering International Inc. said T. Jay Collins will retire as a member and chairman of the board of directors immediately following its 2023 annual meeting of shareholders. Collins has served on the board since 2002 and as chairman since May 2021. Collins served as Oceaneering’s CEO from 2006 to 2011 and its president from 2002 to 2006. M. Kevin McEvoy will succeed Collins as chairman. McEvoy, whose service with Oceaneering began in 1979, has been a director of Oceaneering since 2011. He served as CEO from 2011 to 2017 and as president from 2011 to 2015. 

Halliburton Co. has added Janet Weiss and Maurice Smith to its board of directors. The appointments were effective Feb. 21, and both will stand for election by shareholders at the annual meeting on May 17.

At its board of directors meeting Feb. 22, MODEC Inc. decided on a plan for change in its directors and executive officers. The appointment of directors is subject to the approval at the annual general meeting of the shareholders to be held on March 28. Effective March 28, Koichi Watanabe is a candidate for new director, and Katsuyuki Imaizumi and Ryoichi Oka are the directors to resign. Imaizumi will resign from director as he moves to Rio de Janeiro and will be promoted from executive managing officer to senior executive managing officer, effective April 1. Also effective April 1, Yasuhiro Takano, Katsuyuki Imaizumi, Osamu Toriumi and Soichi Ide are promoted to executive officers. Lastly, the MODEC executive officers, effective April 1, will be Takeshi Kanamori, president and CEO; Yasuhiro Takano, senior executive managing officer; Katsuyuki Imaizumi, senior executive managing officer; Minoru Sawada, executive managing officer; Osamu Toriumi, executive managing officer; Soichi Ide, executive managing officer; Ryo Suzuki, executive officer; Mitsuru Sato, executive officer; Koichi Matsumiya, executive officer; and Arun Duggal, executive officer.

IOG Plc has announced that Fiona MacAulay, who has been chair of IOG since December 2018, has chosen not to stand for re-election as a director of the company at its 2023 annual general meeting, which is expected in May. She will be retiring as chair and resigning as a director following the meeting. It is the board’s intention that Esa Ikaheimonen will become chair of IOG, initially on an interim basis. He has been the senior independent non-executive director with IOG since March 2019 and is the current chair of the audit committee. Currently, he is CFO at ADNOC Drilling Co. PJSC and non-executive director of Averda International. IOG has initiated a process to recruit two further non-executive directors.



Courtesy Suncor Energy
Kris Smith, who has been the interim CEO since July 2022, will work with the new CEO to facilitate a leadership transition before assuming the role of CFO and executive vice president of corporate development.
Courtesy Telford Offshore
Telford Offshore

Photo 46666395 © Rawpixelimages |
Photo 87979393 © Wavebreakmedia Ltd |
Courtesy Javier Gremes Cordero LinkedIn
Javier Gremes Cordero
Courtesy Van Oord
Photo 45185193 © Rawpixelimages |